Wednesday, March 27, 2024

GRC and GRC West name Scholar Bowl All-Conference

by Jeremy Benson, GrandRiverConference.con

Both the GRC and GRC West selected All-Conference for Scholar Bowl

GRC All-Conference

1st Team 

  • Aden Segal- Polo
  • Keith Farmer- Polo
  • Jared Klindt- South Harrison
  • Kale Batson- Trenton
  • Lyle Malinao- South Harrison

2nd Team

  • Nathan Stark- Trenton
  • Andrew Paniamogan- South Harrison
  • Jackson Smith- Milan
  • Olivia Wolf- Polo
  • Zane Michael- Trenton
  • Cole Clay- Milan

Honorable Mention

  • Hoyt Hailey- Putnam County 
  • Emma Whitlock- Putnam County 
  • Adan Callego- Milan
  • August Karguth- Maysville
  • Devin Brummett- Maysville
GRC West All-Conference

1st Team

  • Jackson Cline, St. Joseph Christian
  • Colby Hagen, Princeton
  • Wyatt Holt, North Andrew
  • Cooper Mooney, King City
  • Hudson Groomer, Stanberry

2nd Team

  • Seth Weathington, Princeton
  • Raven Gillespie, Albany
  • Sage Tudeen, Princeton
  • Morgan Graff, King City
  • Ethan Frese, Worth County
  • Tanner Williams, Albany

Honorable Mention

  • Gage Iddings, Pattonsburg
  • Karson Wilmes, North Andrew
  • Brayden Nail, North Harrison
  • Ruby Heintz, North Harrison
  • Jonah Elderhorst, St. Joseph Christian
Polo won the GRC championship while King City, Princeton and St. Joseph Christian tied for the GRC West title.

Saturday, March 23, 2024

Polo repeats as GRC Scholar Bowl Champion

By Jeremy Benson,

Polo defeated South Harrison on Wednesday to win their 2nd consecutive GRC Scholar Bowl championship.  The Panther team of Aden Segal, Keith Farmer, Olivia Wolf, Megan Vaughan, and Eli Clevenger defeated South Harrison in the championship match 390-220.  

Polo was seeded #1 in the tournament and received a bye into the semifinals where they defeated Milan 450-50.  South Harrison advance to the championship by defeating #2 seed Trenton 340-280.

In the quarterfinals on Monday night, Milan defeated Putnam County 270-50 and South Harrison was victorious over Maysville 200-140.

Polo also won back-to-back Scholar Bowl titles in 2018 and 2019.

Photo courtesy of Rita Hildebrand via Facebook